Day 2

“No More Letting Go” by Debra Jay is an excellent book that I will refer to often in this series.  It has captured the essence of this topic and provided a wealth of source material.  I think this book should not only be recommended to all families suffering from SUDS – it should be REQUIRED reading!  Thanks in advance to Debra and her team for writing such a wonderful guidebook.

 

Before Debra wrote her book, Paul spoke of compulsion in a book of the bible called Romans.  Here’s what he said:  “I do not understand my own behavior; I do not act as I mean to, but I do things that I hate.  Though the will to do what is good is in me, the power to do it is not; the good thing that I want to do, I never do; the evil thing which I do not want – that is what I do.”

 

His writing speaks perfectly of the compulsivity of an “ism”; note also that compulsivity shows up in a variety of forms.  Debra, speaking specifically about alcoholism, says that “As alcoholics try to resolve the conflict between how they want to behave and how they are behaving, in the end, the only solution they can see is another drink.”  (p.10 “No More Letting Go”)  This may make no sense to you; but it is the real life experience of the compulsivity that accompanies any “ism.”  May God help us all!

 

Tomorrow, we’ll dig in.  Today, perhaps set the stage by inviting God to wake you up and help you see any false assumptions or compulsions you are living with in any area of your life.

Leave a Reply

