Day 28

In recent months I’ve taken a pretty narrow approach to the devotionals.  I’ve written almost exclusively on spiritual matters.  This month, I’m going to try something new.  I’m going to broaden the scope and try to expose you all to other people and what they’re saying on all matters recovery.  Each day I’ll give a link to an article or video and provide some brief commentary.

 

Article:  Mindfulness and Loss

 

My thoughts:  I didn’t realize it at the time, but the therapist that I saw for a few years when I was in graduate school taught me to process grief and loss with “mindfulness”.  It is among the greatest gifts I’ve ever received.  This article quotes Robert Frost, “The best way out is always through.”  I’ve found this to be helpful.  I’m not like everyone and everyone is not like me, there are no one-size-fits-all solutions.  But, in essence, mindfulness is the act of learning to sit in and with a painful experience without actively trying to push it away.  It is severely uncomfortable for a few minutes but, slowly, you settle in.  Your pain doesn’t go away, but you learn to be comfortable sitting with your pain.  The result is a sense of peace in the midst of grief.  I’m not an expert so I’ll cut my comments short, but I’d highly recommend exploring mindfulness if you’re in the midst of hard times.

Leave a Reply

