Day 25

In recent months I’ve taken a pretty narrow approach to the devotionals.  I’ve written almost exclusively on spiritual matters.  This month, I’m going to try something new.  I’m going to broaden the scope and try to expose you all to other people and what they’re saying on all matters recovery.  Each day I’ll give a link to an article or video and provide some brief commentary.

 

Story:  Option B- A story of anxiety and perspective

 

My thoughts:  I very much appreciate this story.  It’s not told from the perspective of someone who is “on the other side”.  This person is not a happy person looking back on difficult times, she’s in the midst of difficult times as she writes.  We need more stories like this.  We need stories of people discussing their fear and anxiety while they are in the midst of fear and anxiety, not stories of people who have overcome it and are now happy.  When we hear stories of people who are currently in the midst of tragedy, those who are also in the midst of tragedy find that they are not alone.  Generally speaking, we find it’s okay to not be okay as long as we have others around us who are also not okay.  This way we don’t feel “othered,” we don’t feel like freaks, like we’re on an island.  This is why recovery communities emphasize the importance of community.  Anyway.  Good stuff here.

One thought on “Day 25

  1. I agree. This is why ‘I made it’ songs do t appeal to me As very helpful really.

    …And I use ‘zooming out’ regularly, when I can remember it in the trenches. In fact, in thankful for the reminder and I’m going to do a little zooming out of my own right now

    Sent from iPhone using voice translation.

    Brian Hinson 804.855.9465 brian@cni-inc.com

    >

Leave a Reply

