Day 24

In recent months I’ve taken a pretty narrow approach to the devotionals.  I’ve written almost exclusively on spiritual matters.  This month, I’m going to try something new.  I’m going to broaden the scope and try to expose you all to other people and what they’re saying on all matters recovery.  Each day I’ll give a link to an article or video and provide some brief commentary.

 

Story:  Option B- Dad and Children Learn to Cope

 

My thoughts:  I’m not always sure what to make of Option B’s way of telling stories.  In some ways, this story is written as if resilience is “happiness” and that this man, after losing his wife, found happiness again (rather quickly) through immersing himself in his career.  Is that resilience?  What do the children think when dad flies to another country for work and their mother is no longer there?  This is why I’m troubled by the idea that resilience is a matter of strength and speed.  “Strength” and “speed” often have little to do with happiness and much more to do with distracting one’s self.  It seems to me that we’re tempted to use the word “resilience” as a way of assuring ourselves that things won’t get any worse, that we’re going to be okay when, in fact, the immediate goal is not becoming “okay” but learning to accept the reality of adversity and/or tragedy.

 

On the plus side, I’ll note that I very much appreciate that the dad has worked hard to affirm sadness in his children and has learned the importance of filling his life with meaning once confronted with this tragic loss.

Leave a Reply

