Day 30

Step 5:  Admitted to God, to ourselves and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs.

 

9 But you aren’t self-centered. Instead you are in the Spirit, if in fact God’s Spirit lives in you. If anyone doesn’t have the Spirit of Christ, they don’t belong to him. 10 If Christ is in you, the Spirit is your life because of God’s righteousness, but the body is dead because of sin. 11 If the Spirit of the one who raised Jesus from the dead lives in you, the one who raised Christ from the dead will give life to your human bodies also, through his Spirit that lives in you.

12 So then, brothers and sisters, we have an obligation, but it isn’t an obligation to ourselves to live our lives on the basis of selfishness.  Romans 8:9-12, CEB

 

From yesterday: Who do you practice step 5 with?

 

This is a difficult practice and discipline.  We’re tempted to get together with others and do just enough to make it look like we’re being open without really probing the depths of ourselves.  

 

At the core of myself, I struggle to even maintain basic human decency.  I struggle to wish people well, even people I care about.  At my core, I’m primarily interested in making myself feel better through whatever means.  I’m certainly not selfless.  I’ve learned to do some selfless things, but this is hardly my natural disposition.  

 

If I’m not taking these things to someone and talking about them in explicit detail then I do not benefit from the transformative experience that comes from sharing these things and getting them into the open where they no longer have power over me.  I can only become more than my basic, core selfish tendencies if I share.  When I share, I root myself in the spirit.  
It is only through this spirit that I will be transformed.  

Leave a Reply

