Day 29

So, brothers and sisters, because of God’s mercies, I encourage you to present your bodies as a living sacrifice that is holy and pleasing to God. This is your appropriate priestly service. 2 Don’t be conformed to the patterns of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds so that you can figure out what God’s will is—what is good and pleasing and mature.  Romans 12:1-2 CEB

How challenging it is to know and do the will of God.  No where is this more obvious to me than in the work of recovery.  So much of this work is counter-intuitive.  It is definitely not conformed to the patterns of this world.  I’m going to set a timer for two minutes and list all the things that I have learned that fit this category, just to make the point that figuring out God’s will, while good and pleasing and mature is evidently very difficult or more of us would be experiencing renewal….including me.

Counter-intuitive things I’ve learned that I think are God’s will at this point in my life:  

  • Letting go and letting God is more than a saying.  It is really hard work, often confused with giving up, failing to assume responsibility for what actually is ours to do, and sometimes an excuse for washing your hands of someone.  On the other hand, true letting go and letting God is a sacrificial act of love that requires the wisdom of Solomon (before he went all crazy with his sex addiction) and discernment that we cannot acquire without the work of the Holy Spirit.
  • Our work is not to judge anyone anytime.  Which is not to say that we are to be people who lack discernment.  Nonjudgmental living changes what we ruminate over and how we talk to people.  But it in no way means we are careless in our lifestyle choices.
  • Just because good Christian people write many books about the will of God, I need to be careful about taking everything I hear at face value and accepting it as the will of God.  This includes me.  I have been wrong about my interpretation of the will of God more times than I can count – and those are the times when I eventually realized I was wrong!!  This inspires me to humbly pursue conscious contact with God, decreases my arrogant judgment of other people who I PERCEIVE are goofing up, builds my trust muscles and helps me allow my codependency muscles to atrophy.

Two minutes.  Done.

Now.  What about you?  How might these verses aptly applied change your DOING?

Leave a Reply

