Day 28

So, brothers and sisters, because of God’s mercies, I encourage you to present your bodies as a living sacrifice that is holy and pleasing to God. This is your appropriate priestly service. 2 Don’t be conformed to the patterns of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds so that you can figure out what God’s will is—what is good and pleasing and mature.  Romans 12:1-2 CEB

I’m continuing with my takeaways from this passage as it relates to making changes, still hoping these verses might find their way into your heart for you to find the kind of guidance and comfort they have provided me….

  • God is less interested in my comfort than he is in my offering.  I’ve got to assume that this, ultimately, is in my best interest as it relates to the wholeness and well-being of my tribe.  Sacrifice and suffering, failure and discomfort, curiosity and humility, learning, learning, learning…all normal.
  • We all serve as priests.  There are no paid professionals in the kingdom of God.
  • The world is at odds with the Spirit in some ways; the world is made by God and must by definition be worthy of respect – even if it spins off-course at times.  
  • My mind will constantly and forever need to be in a state of renewal.  I cannot live off the spiritual manna (bread) of yesterday.  God’s mercies and teachings are made new every morning.  My life’s work is to figure and continually adjust and reconfigure what this renewal looks like.  It is a tremendous responsibility to own the job of daily, moment-by-moment renewal of the mind.

Pause here for a minute.  I am going to go all preachy for a moment.  Daily mind renewal is a big deal.  We hear of the need for prayer.  Meditation.  Conscious contact.  Community.  Studying.  Service.  Et cetera…..

Are we doing our part?  Are we faithful?

Leave a Reply

