Day 25

Don’t be misled, my dear brothers and sisters. Every good gift, every perfect gift, comes from above. These gifts come down from the Father, the creator of the heavenly lights, in whose character there is no change at all.  James 1:16-17 CEB

I have become increasingly convinced that the Father, the creator of the heavenly lights, consistently gives out good and perfect gifts.  I understand that these gifts might show up in strange trappings and at unexpected times.  I am absolutely positive that God does not google my Amazon wish list and try to provide me what I have identified as a “must have”.

I myself am a poor gift giver at best.  But my children are amazing.  One gift that was given over the holidays was only made possible because one family member had noticed a pattern of whistling that tipped him off to a favorite song which led to some research and netted an amazing video find about said song and its creation, production and more.  I prefer to work off a list.

God doesn’t need a stinking list.  Think of the level of awareness and wisdom, power and discernment, not to mention heart of loving intention that God has in order to be the original source of EVERY good gift, EVERY perfect gift.

With this in mind, I wonder if gratitude might be something we want to pursue in 2017.  I know people who keep daily gratitude lists – and that is amazing.  Me?  I cannot commit to doing that every single day although I certainly have daily gifts that I need to recognize.  I’ve decided to start with something doable.  On Sunday mornings, I’m going to start my day reviewing the week and making a gratitude list.  Want to try that?

Leave a Reply

