Day 20

“We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.” Albert Einstein

Einstein says I’m part of the problem.  But that’s not all he says.  He also says that we need to consciously change our thinking if we want to solve our problems.  This is much more difficult than it sounds like the first time you read it.

We are often unconscious of our thoughts, that makes them pretty darn hard to change.  Here’s an easy example for us to consider. I hang out with a bunch of Dallas Cowboy fans.  By osmosis and without any effort on my part I’ve learned things about the team and have some investment in their success.  Their uniforms always look decent, even the “throw back” ones because they got them right the first time.  Not once have they taken the field looking like bumble bees, which cannot be said for ALL NFL teams.  I know who Dak Prescott is too.  I’ve been to their stadium and stood mid-field on their star.  Every fan at my house enjoyed watching them play during the 2016 season.  

But these thoughts and attitudes are not shared by everyone in my family and certainly not in my friend group.  I know fans from lots of different teams.  Some might say that my opinions, which feel like facts to me, regarding the Dallas Cowboys are corrupted by those influencing me.  I’m sure there is merit to the sentiment.  Honestly, this is no big deal unless you’re foolish enough to mix fans at a Super Bowl party.  Bu who does that?

On other matters, however, we might be suffering consequences for our misguided thoughts and opinions that are so ingrained that they feel like facts to us.  How could you explore the possibility that you have some stinking thinking that needs addressing in order to make necessary changes?

Don’t be deceived, bad company corrupts good character. 1 Corinthians 15:33 CEB

Tomorrow we will unpack this verse a bit, but in the meantime, I’d caution us all to not get to judgy about who is, and who is not, bad company.

Leave a Reply

