Day 10

But anyone who needs wisdom should ask God, whose very nature is to give to everyone without a second thought, without keeping score. Wisdom will certainly be given to those who ask.  Whoever asks shouldn’t hesitate. They should ask in faith, without doubting. Whoever doubts is like the surf of the sea, tossed and turned by the wind.  James 1:5-6 CEB

I have a suffering that is prolonged and feels endless.  I have developed some “doings” around this suffering.  I refuse to ruminate.  I eat right (mostly) and exercise regularly to relieve the stress associated with the chronic nature of the problem.  I talk to my therapist.  I work the 12-steps.  I share my experience with trusted loved ones.  I study and read and ask experts about my situation from a position of curiosity.  I’m always on the prowl for learning something else I need to change, adjust, or modify in myself as it relates to this situation and my reaction to it.

And I ask God.  My asking has changed over the years, as my curiosity and frustrations with prayer and meditation have taught me new ways of understanding conscious contact with God.  I used to beg for circumstantial change.  And that’s a fine choice.  I’m sure I’ll do that again.  But in this particular situation, mostly now I just ask for knowledge of God’s will as it pertains to how I live my life.

The eleventh step has shaped my prayers for almost two decades, and it has not grown stale or worn out its welcome in my devotional time.  Remember that “DOING” project you started on day 1 of 2017?  I’d highly recommend starting and ending your day with a short prayer of gratitude for what God is up to in your life, asking for the knowledge of his will and the strength to carry it out.  This is one of those timeless ways of acknowledging our soul and God’s care of it.  

Leave a Reply

