Day 8

More than anything you guard, protect your mind, for life flows from it. Proverbs 4:23 CEB

New Year’s resolutions, when I made them, were often tied more closely to symptoms than an actual problem.  Perhaps this is why New Year’s resolutions don’t usually result in much transformational change.  But I would suggest that studying the resolutions we desire to make are a good start.   

Remember that thing you started the year off with?  

Just for today, I am going to practice DOING this one different thing:  _______________________________________________________.

It’s probably a symptom.

Take some time and think about this in prayer and meditation and with a trusted mentor.  Is your doing related, perhaps, to changing unhealthy lifestyle choices?  Maybe you drink too much or eat peanut butter out of a jar at night when you come home from work at 10 p.m. stressed to the gills.  Is that our problem?  Well, yes, it is in one sense, because these are healthy habits.  But what lies beneath?

Are you depressed?

Do you have poor stress management coping skills?

Do you have an anxiety disorder?

Is your soul sick (by that I mean do you have spiritual anemia, or a spiritual wound, or maybe just an inattentiveness towards your own soul work)?  

One of the above?  Three out of four of these ring a bell?

Ok.  If that’s the case, we can still be committed to a change of DOING.  For example, I DO practice making healthier food choices than my anxiety and depression prefer to eat.  But I am not assuming that this solves my problems.  Instead, I have a great therapist who helps me, I walk in the 12-step way, I believe that good self-care always involves attention to my soul.  What do you need to attend to differently?  

Leave a Reply

