Day 25

12 Therefore, as God’s choice, holy and loved, put on compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience. 13 Be tolerant with each other and, if someone has a complaint against anyone, forgive each other. As the Lord forgave you, so also forgive each other. 14 And over all these things put on love, which is the perfect bond of unity.15 The peace of Christ must control your hearts—a peace into which you were called in one body. And be thankful people. 16 The word of Christ must live in you richly. Teach and warn each other with all wisdom by singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. Sing to God with gratitude in your hearts. 17 Whatever you do, whether in speech or action, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus and give thanks to God the Father through him.  Colossians 3:12-17, CEB

Sometimes I don’t plan well and forget to do holiday themed devotionals on the actual holiday.  So this is a belated, day-after Thanksgiving devotional.  

I guess what I’m seeing in this passage is that thankfulness is a discipline much like the other things mentioned in here.  It would be nice if it wasn’t, if it just came naturally, but…alas…it does not.  

In the spirit of practicing, I’ll say I’m thankful for our community.  I hear so many stories of people who are part of faith communities where they don’t feel they can be themselves simply because there are strict social boundaries.  People can’t voice honest thoughts or opinions.  People can’t be honest about their struggles.  People can’t learn because questions are too dangerous.  

I love our community because questioning is encouraged.  I get the opportunity to speak in front of the crowd just about every-other weekend and I’m allowed to work out my stuff in front of everyone.  That sounds like it should be scary…but at NSC it is not.  

In terms of my community, thankfulness is not a discipline at all.  It’s easy for me because you all have created such a special place.  On January 1, I’ll be starting my 6th year at NSC.  I hope I get to do about 60 more.

Leave a Reply

