Day 5

“Come to me, all you who are struggling hard and carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest.  Put on my yoke, and learn from me. I’m gentle and humble. And you will find rest for yourselves.  My yoke is easy to bear, and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11:28-30 CEB

I have a few friends that are so spiritually minded that I have this sense that they are wise enough to run to Jesus on a regular basis.  I am not so inclined.  When life is humming along, it often lulls me into a restful complacency, and it is easy for me to take for granted this privilege and responsibility of “coming to”.  Oh, I may still be having my quiet times, studying the scripture, and all the accoutrements of faithful living – but honestly, I am often coasting during those seasons of relatively low stress.  

Come to me, all you who are struggling hard and carrying heavy loads….”  Is not a limitation placed on those Jesus is willing to serve.  It is, I suspect, an acknowledgement of who is willing to be served.

Fortunately for me,  I don’t have a lot of times when I am NOT struggling or carrying what feels like to me is a heavy load.  It is with gratitude that I read what Jesus promises:

I will give you rest.

So here’s the thing:  no matter what the commercials say about how this political candidate or that one will improve our life – Jesus is the one who says I will give you rest.

And most days, that’s more than enough for me. No matter what the world is up to – it is ALL  better if we get rest.  Not numbing slumber….restorative rest!!

How about you?  Doesn’t this sound like a beautiful promise?  If we come to him, he will give us rest.  That’s lovely.  Today, can you spare a few minutes to sit in silent acknowledgement that there is a God and you were not given the job?  Dare to dream with me of the possibility of a God that loves us so much, knows us so well, and is so resourceful that he can give us rest.  Take a few minutes to sit and experience the rest that Jesus has promised.

Leave a Reply

