Day 3

My newborn grandson is a very clear communicator.  When he is hungry, tired or burdened with a dirty diaper – he lets his peeps know!  This morning I babysat while his mommy had a meeting.  He woke up from his nap hungry, wailed plaintively with his precious little mouth opened wide and making a perfect circle of despair.  I swear, if I dilly dallied around, I could have stared past his tonsils and seen the inner lining of his toes!  Once his pressing need for food was met, he settled down cozily in my arms and eyed me with satisfaction.  

Of all the verses that come to my mind as I stare transfixed at this perfect little creature, songs of gratitude and prayers of thanksgiving most often among them, today I focused on this one:

The Lord will fight for you.  You just keep still.  Exodus 14:14 CEB

When my grandson wails, I often hear one of us cooing in response, “It’s ok little peanut, we’ve got you.”  This is family-speak for Exodus 14:14 –

The Lord will fight for you.  You just keep still.  Exodus 14:14 CEB

At his most frantic, it seems my grandson doubts our capacity to hear and respond to his cry for assistance.  Without us, he’s hosed!  He cannot hold his head up, much less march into the kitchen and rummage through the refrigerator.  

I figure we’re much in the same condition.  Without God, we’re hosed!  There is oh so much we do not understand, are powerless to change, and unprepared to address.  Moses taught the Israelites to trust that God is for them and to understand that only God can save them.  Imagine for a moment yourself as a newborn babe, in need of rescue.  Picture a God who wants to give you what you need and needs you to be still and cooperative, trusting and curious, in order to receive what He wants to provide.  If you can, offer your cooperation to God today.  Just keep still.  Find a way to spend a few minutes receiving from the God who is eager to give you every good and perfect gift.

PS  I find this such GOOD NEWS right about now, when I wrestle so often with what my response should be to the world around me – spiritually, politically, emotionally.

Leave a Reply

