Day 20

If I speak in tongues of human beings and of angels but I don’t have love, I’m a clanging gong or a clashing cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and I know all the mysteries and everything else, and if I have such complete faith that I can move mountains but I don’t have love, I’m nothing. 3 If I give away everything that I have and hand over my own body to feel good about what I’ve done but I don’t have love, I receive no benefit whatsoever. 4 Love is patient, love is kind, it isn’t jealous, it doesn’t brag, it isn’t arrogant, 5 it isn’t rude, it doesn’t seek its own advantage, it isn’t irritable, it doesn’t keep a record of complaints, 6 it isn’t happy with injustice, but it is happy with the truth. 7 Love puts up with all things, trusts in all things, hopes for all things, endures all things. 8 Love never fails. As for prophecies, they will be brought to an end. As for tongues, they will stop. As for knowledge, it will be brought to an end. 9 We know in part and we prophesy in part; 10 but when the perfect comes, what is partial will be brought to an end. 11 When I was a child, I used to speak like a child, reason like a child, think like a child. But now that I have become a man, I’ve put an end to childish things. 12 Now we see a reflection in a mirror; then we will see face-to-face. Now I know partially, but then I will know completely in the same way that I have been completely known. 13 Now faith, hope, and love remain—these three things—and the greatest of these is love.  1 Corinthians 13:1-13 CEB

 

Love isn’t irritable.  Oh yeah?  Again, I got nothing.  I have been very irritable during this season of grief and loss.  I’m gratefully relying on the patience of those who love me well to bear with me during this season of irritability.  Maybe the next time around when I use this verse devotionally, I can have better material for you guys!  For today, if you happen to know a daughter who is grieving the loss of her mommy, thank you for your patience when she MIGHT be a bit distracted and irritable. ❤

On a more beautiful note – can I tell you how awesome community is?  Everyone has stepped in and covered for me and mine – time and time again.  One of our beloved community members lost a sister-in-law this week in a tragic accident – the community has stepped into that grief and ministered in ways that go far beyond what my own limited emotional resources have available at the moment.  But this is the moment when love and care and fried chicken is needed – and the community has made that happen even when my irritable self has limited capacity for much of anything productive.

This is what this chapter is talking about.  Thank God!

Leave a Reply

