Day 30

“I know that I have to move from speaking about Jesus to letting him speak within me, from thinking about Jesus to letting him think within me, from acting for and with Jesus to letting him act through me. I know the only way for me to see the world is to see it through his eyes.”

Henri J.M. Nouwen

 

How to avoid arguing about politics with your friends and foes alike…..

 

I talked this month about my friend who used facebook as a place to vent and rant about people he believes are not living up to the life Jesus has called them to.  As gently as I can say this – I have known this person for decades, and I cannot recall a time when he has talked about when he has not lived up to that life.  This is a problem.

 

And, I think it is solvable.  
One of the things I love about the 12-step movement is that it calls the individual to self-evaluation.  I appreciate this so much, and find that these communities do a great job teaching about concepts that we find in the scriptures:  self-examination, amends, restitution, service, belief, and more.  

 

The willingness to look inside and embrace the fact that we might actually be wrong goes a long way in any area of life, even politics.  It requires a certain kind of humility that can make conversations a possibility, rather than arguments.  Embracing that humility is a way of seeing the world through Jesus’ eyes.

 

More on this tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

