Day 13

9 “As the Father loved me, I too have loved you. Remain in my love. 10 If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 11 I have said these things to you so that my joy will be in you and your joy will be complete. 12 This is my commandment: love each other just as I have loved you. John 15:9-12, CEB

 

What does remaining (or abiding) in God look like?

 

The bottom line is, there is no formula. We submit our lives to God, we submit our lives to our community, we live honestly, we live humbly, we take ownership for our mistakes, and we do the best we can. We rely not just on our discernment alone but the discernment of those around us to try to figure out what love looks like and how to pursue it in our lives. Abiding isn’t easy, it’s not simple, and there’s no quick path to get from who we are today to who we’d like to be.

 

We just do the best we can and ask others for help when we need it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 13

  1. I have enjoyed your blog for a long time, but struggle with WordPress, due to one more password etc. Still, I want to say that this morning, what you have written has truly blessed me and I thank you.

  2. Thanks for the kind words and the feedback! I’ve thought about moving the blog to our new website but haven’t done so yet.

Leave a Reply

