Day 12

9 “As the Father loved me, I too have loved you. Remain in my love. 10 If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 11 I have said these things to you so that my joy will be in you and your joy will be complete. 12 This is my commandment: love each other just as I have loved you. John 15:9-12, CEB

 

If we don’t keep our eyes on God’s call to love, then we run the risk of false abiding. What is false abiding? Well, it’s the kind where we think we’re abiding in God but, in reality, we’re just living in the comfort of what we think we know already.

 

After the shooting in Orlando, a church went to protest the funerals because they believe God is against the LGBTQ community. At a funeral, when people are raw, emotional, and grieving, this group protested. I wonder, is that an act of self-sacrifical love?

 

I don’t see how this could possibly be an act of love. We all are encountered with things in this world that make us uncomfortable. We all can think of things people do with their lives that we disagree with and feel comfortable judging. In the midst of a massive amount of grief, this group went to tell the grieving that God couldn’t possibly love them.

 

False abiding leads us to live out of our anxiety. We hate people who make us uncomfortable and, yet, confuse our hate for love. When we’re so convinced we know who God loves and who God hates we get in danger of false abiding. Why? We’re not good judges.

 

 

Leave a Reply

