Day 7

 

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vineyard keeper. 2 He removes any of my branches that don’t produce fruit, and he trims any branch that produces fruit so that it will produce even more fruit. 3 You are already trimmed because of the word I have spoken to you. 4 Remain in me, and I will remain in you. John 15:1-4, CEB

 

9 “As the Father loved me, I too have loved you. Remain in my love. 10 If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 11 I have said these things to you so that my joy will be in you and your joy will be complete. 12 This is my commandment: love each other just as I have loved you. John 15:9-12, CEB

 

What does remaining (or abiding) in God look like?

 

Yesterday we gave some examples of some ways to “abide” on your own, in private. This is only one aspect of abiding. We also must be a part of a group. After all, remaining in God is something we do so we can love each other, not something we do so we can love ourselves (though that may also happen). Whatever we do to build community with other people trying to follow God counts as abiding. It’s important to get invested in each other’s lives, even if it isn’t that formal. It can be as simple as hanging out over dinner or going hiking, as long as we’re allowing space to speak into each other’s lives in deep and meaningful ways shaped both by our spiritual convictions and recovery principles.

 

Sometimes the best work is done very simply.

 

Leave a Reply

