Day 14

Love should be shown without pretending. Hate evil, and hold on to what is good. 10 Love each other like the members of your family. Be the best at showing honor to each other. 11 Don’t hesitate to be enthusiastic—be on fire in the Spirit as you serve the Lord! 12 Be happy in your hope, stand your ground when you’re in trouble, and devote yourselves to prayer. 13 Contribute to the needs of God’s people, and welcome strangers into your home. 14 Bless people who harass you—bless and don’t curse them. 15 Be happy with those who are happy, and cry with those who are crying. 16 Consider everyone as equal, and don’t think that you’re better than anyone else. Instead, associate with people who have no status. Don’t think that you’re so smart. 17 Don’t pay back anyone for their evil actions with evil actions, but show respect for what everyone else believes is good. Romans 12:9-17

“Don’t think that you’re better than anyone else.” What a freeing statement!!!!

I love this so much.

Today in our community is a bad weather day, which means it is spitting snow and the city is shut down. (It’s the south, what can I say?) I had some information I wanted to send out to a wide audience of people. Normally when I do this kind of work I have others proof behind me, but today I proofed myself – and missed a few typos.

“Don’t think that you’re so smart.”

Clearly, this is an easy verse for me to relate to today!!

But here’s the thing that I love about inspired living. I would have preferred to send out a pristine document, I’m disappointed that I missed my typos. But it also reminds me of how good others are at proofing! And clearly, although I am not crazy about the errors, I did create the document and get out the information that I wanted others to receive. I was not perfect.

Maturity allows for the perfection of imperfection. My mistakes do not ruin my day. This will be a great opportunity for people who are really great at proofing to tell me I messed up. I will take names and notice whose giftedness is shining through. Maybe the next time I will ask for them to proof my work. They will know I need it and I will know they are good at the work. Big win.

Life has many hardships, we don’t have to make it harder by perfectionistic expectations of self and others.

Are you always perfecting your world? Is someone you love always trying to perfect you? More on this tomorrow….

 

 

Leave a Reply

