Day 13

18 All of these new things are from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and who gave us the ministry of reconciliation. 19 In other words, God was reconciling the world to himself through Christ, by not counting people’s sins against them. He has trusted us with this message of reconciliation.  2 Corinthians 5:18-19, CEB

 

Yesterday, my devotional was kind of hopeless.  I talked about how ill-equipped I am to be trusted with this message of reconciliation.  It’s above my head.  I don’t have the requisite skills to practice this day-in and day-out.  And, here’s the thing, that’s true of all of us, in a way.  But that doesn’t mean the situation is hopeless, and I’ll tell you why.  

 

God views his people as a community first and as individuals second.  This message is not entrusted to Scott McBean alone.  It’s entrusted to all God’s people who work collaboratively to carry it out.  Each individual may not get things perfectly right, but they’re supported and encouraged by a community to carry on with the task.  Each individual community may not get things totally right, but the individuals in the community continue to support and encourage each other in chasing this particular vision.  It’s not on any one person’s shoulders to live perfectly- that burden is too large.  But it’s our job to uplift each other both in “success” and “failure” (however we might define those particularly weighty words).  

 

In general, I see the community I’m a part of prioritizing these principles and living them out.  I think they (or we) are, in fact, up to the task of being entrusted with this ministry of reconciliation (even if we don’t do it perfectly).  While I might make myself rather hopeless, the awesome people that surround me restore whatever hope I lose when I’m only looking at myself as an individual.

 

Leave a Reply

