Day 29

10 The thief enters only to steal, kill, and destroy. I came so that they could have life—indeed, so that they could live life to the fullest.  John 10:10, CEB

When Jesus finished saying these things, he looked up to heaven and said, “Father, the time has come. Glorify your Son, so that the Son can glorify you. 2 You gave him authority over everyone so that he could give eternal life to everyone you gave him. 3 This is eternal life: to know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you sent. 4 I have glorified you on earth by finishing the work you gave me to do. 5 Now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I shared with you before the world was created.  John 17:1-5, CEB

I think there’s a concept in these verses that I rarely think about.  A life lived in humble service to God is not only inherently meaningful but also glorifies God in the process.  Glory, to me, is one of those words like holiness.  It sort of seems to big to even be defined in a meaningful way.  But I suspect, based on what I’m reading here, that glorifying God means that some kind of positive revelation as happened.  We have shown him to the world around us in a way that he would approve of.  People may notice, people may not notice, but the work is done as end unto itself.  

There’s too much pressure if our lives are lived in such a way as to constantly be seeking attention from others, whether we’re trying to get attention for ourselves or trying to get attention from God.  I like the idea, though, that perhaps glorifying God is its own end and doesn’t depend on a person’s response.  I make my own “next right steps” and allow God to handle the rest.  I recognize and embrace my own powerlessness.  

That seems about right.

Leave a Reply

