Day 15

Hey all,

Over the course of my half the days this month, I’m going to do a series on John 9 based off the reading I’ve found in James Alison’s terrific Faith Beyond Resentment.  For the first few days, I’m going to post chunks of John 9 in here for you to read.  I hate to be demanding with these things, so I’m not going to make you read a huge chunk of scripture and a huge chunk of my ramblings all in one day.  So, absorb these verses for a few days and then we’ll have a chat about them.  As you read, maybe jot down some questions or notes to get your brain working on this passage.  

35 Jesus heard they had expelled the man born blind. Finding him, Jesus said, “Do you believe in the Human One?”  36 He answered, “Who is he, sir? I want to believe in him.”

37 Jesus said, “You have seen him. In fact, he is the one speaking with you.”

38 The man said, “Lord, I believe.” And he worshipped Jesus.

39 Jesus said, “I have come into the world to exercise judgment so that those who don’t see can see and those who see will become blind.”

40 Some Pharisees who were with him heard what he said and asked, “Surely we aren’t blind, are we?”

41 Jesus said to them, “If you were blind, you wouldn’t have any sin, but now that you say, ‘We see,’ your sin remains.  John 9:35-41, CEB

Leave a Reply

