Day 12

Hey all,

Over the course of the next few days, I’m going to do a series on John 9 based off the reading I’ve found in James Alison’s terrific Faith Beyond Resentment.  For the first few days, I’m going to post chunks of John 9 in here for you to read.  I hate to be demanding with these things, so I’m not going to make you read a huge chunk of scripture and a huge chunk of my ramblings all in one day.  So, absorb these verses for a few days and then we’ll have a chat about them.  As you read, maybe jot down some questions or notes to get your brain working on this passage.  


As Jesus walked along, he saw a man who was blind from birth. 2 Jesus’ disciples asked, “Rabbi, who sinned so that he was born blind, this man or his parents?” 3 Jesus answered, “Neither he nor his parents. This happened so that God’s mighty works might be displayed in him. 4 While it’s daytime, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming when no one can work. 5 While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.” 6 After he said this, he spit on the ground, made mud with the saliva, and smeared the mud on the man’s eyes. 7 Jesus said to him, “Go, wash in the pool of Siloam” (this word means sent). So the man went away and washed. When he returned, he could see.  John 9:1-7, CEB

Leave a Reply

