Day 9

From one man he made all the nations, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he marked out their appointed times in history and the boundaries of their lands. 27 God did this so that they would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from any one of us. 28 ‘For in him we live and move and have our being.’ As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’  Acts 17:26-28 CEB

Another question I ask a lot is “Where?”  Where is my cell phone?  Where is my husband?  Where is God when you need him?  

Answer?  “…he is not far from any one of us.”

My mother calls me and says, “Teresa, someone is calling me and when I answer they hang up the phone.  Was that you?”

“No Mom, it wasn’t me.”

“Was it your boy?”  She asks anxiously.

“No, it wasn’t either of my boys.  I am sitting at the lake and I can see them and they are playing a crazy game of football on paddle boards.  They didn’t call you.”

“Well, whoever is calling me is trying to hurt me.”  She says with great fear.

My mother is suffering from dementia, and it is hard to know sometimes what’s going on when she calls me with a report like this.  Sitting hundreds of miles away, I have questions for myself and God about how I can be more helpful to my mom.  And I wonder why she has to be filled with fear.  I know my dad is with her, I can hear him talking to her as she questions me about my phone call habits.  I know she is not alone. I feel helpless and frustrated that I cannot just pop in and see her with my own two eyeballs on a day when she is anxious and afraid.

But there is one question I do not have to ask.  I do not have to ask where God is in the midst of this suffering.  He is not far from any one of us.  

Today I suspect you have many questions.  How might your questions change if you knew that this one issue had been addressed:  God is not far from any one of us.

Leave a Reply

