Day 3

Do you ever wonder if you might be crazy?  I question myself some days, “Are you crazy?”  I ask this on days when what I see and feel and think seems out of alignment with how others are experiencing the exact same event or even what others have taught me about what the bible says and what it means.  

This is important work.  Curiosity helps us make necessary course corrections when we have misread a situation or a portion of scripture.  It helps us not leap to conclusions or tear down pathways of ruminating that take us places that are devoid of reality, or if that’s too strong a term, let’s say…missing perspective of some sort.  Oftentimes I phone a friend or grab coffee with a trusted person and say, “Here’s my story; this is what I am telling myself about this story; do you think I’m crazy?” Part of getting and staying curious requires a lot of listening to voices outside my own head.

In my bible reading, I’ve been reading the book of Job.  It’s the kind of bible narrative that makes me wonder if I’m crazy.  See what you think.  Satan (Hebrew word for Adversary) is hanging out with God (What?  That sounds…crazy.) and this conversation breaks out:

The Lord said to Satan, ‘From where have you come?’ Satan answered the Lord and said, ‘From going to and fro on the earth, and from walking up and down on it.’ And the Lord said to Satan, ‘Have you considered my servant Job, that there is none like him on the earth, a blameless and upright man, who fears God and turns away from evil?’ “ Job 1:7-8 ESV

I think this whole conversation is just plum crazy.  Did God or did God not just stick a bullseye on Job’s back?  I say that because I’ve read ahead, and I know that things are about to get very …..real for poor Job. God is going to give all that Job has into the hand of Satan, with one proviso:  don’t touch Job (yet).  Job loses everything in the process.

Theologically, this story provides me with lots of opportunity to get and maintain curiosity.  After reading it, I texted my son Scott, who I expect to know these things because he has an M. Div. and he is a student of God’s word.

Text from me:  “What’s up with Satan and God and that whole first chapter of Job?  It makes me feel craaazzzzy to think about this from a theological perspective.”

Text reply from Scott:  “Right?”

Seriously.  That’s all he’s got?  I wonder if you have ever gotten curious about the things you believe about God, yourself, and/or other people.  Curiosity can be a gift.  For today, if you are in a situation that has you scratching your head, get curious! Ask questions.  Listen more; assume less!

One thought on “Day 3

  1. so for me- be on guard for apathy. where I sit and revolve around myself.

    the crappy tool of satan, which makes me not ask questions, not chat with others. in doing so, I am not loving others- how can I when it is all me. ah- the illusion that I love others, that I care for my fellow man–

    to know this, before acting on, is strong position of living real for me. living life on life’s terms. took me a while in my life to see that I thought I was living ok life, but it was far less than.

    I did not see the daunting shrinking back of any God given potential I had.

    was not overnight- i had to hear, to read, to question- and listen over and over. took me patience of listening, patience of reading and processing, and then reflective time for me to come full circle. i had to learn the daunting position of full internal retreat versus wide open “i know it all”.

    “the secret life of Walter Mitty”

    I have operated both levels enough to get a master’s in each. I seek discernment as I try to strike for real living for me- which is somewhere in between. I am just getting started on this new life. It is exciting beyond anything I ever dreamed. Daunting, and exciting.

    my good friend and I chatted last night- a quick phone call. about downspouts on his gutters- water flow stuff, round or square. and this conversation was fulfilling to me- I hadn’t chatted with my friend for over a month, it was something and someone I had an interest in- the little bit I helped him was nothing to what he gave to me- been a long rainy week here. sometimes the best religion I get is from a source not what i would have expected.

Leave a Reply

