Day 1

Step 12:  Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we try to carry this message to others and to practice these principles in all our affairs.

 

12 I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength because he considered me faithful. So he appointed me to ministry 13 even though I used to speak against him, attack his people, and I was proud. But I was shown mercy because I acted in ignorance and without faith. 14 Our Lord’s favor poured all over me along with the faithfulness and love that are in Christ Jesus. 15 This saying is reliable and deserves full acceptance: “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”—and I’m the biggest sinner of all. 16 But this is why I was shown mercy, so that Christ Jesus could show his endless patience to me first of all. So I’m an example for those who are going to believe in him for eternal life.  1 Timothy 1:12-16, CEB

 

Carrying this message to others can mean many things.  In our country, Christianity has been so overwhelmingly associated with explicitly telling people that Jesus died for your sins that many of our recovery friends struggle with thinking they need to be doing that every second of the day, with and to everyone they meet, in order to be carrying out these principles in all of our affairs.  Guys, it’s not about that.  

 

Being a Christian in recovery doesn’t obligate us to pester people like used car salesman (no offense to people who sell cars).  In fact, it probably obligates us never to act like we’re selling something.  Our spiritual awakening is more about us being a certain kind of presence in the world first and foremost.  We use words to describe that presence when it’s appropriate, necessary, and the other person actually wants to hear what we have to say.  Respecting people is at the core of the 12 steps and the biblical message, so we’re not to go out and just demand people hear us.  We earn the right to talk with our presence.  
So as a result of your spiritual awakening…go and be a presence.  

Leave a Reply

