Day 17

7 I was given a thorn in my body because of the outstanding revelations I’ve received so that I wouldn’t be conceited. It’s a messenger from Satan sent to torment me so that I wouldn’t be conceited.

8 I pleaded with the Lord three times for it to leave me alone. 9 He said to me, “My grace is enough for you, because power is made perfect in weakness.” So I’ll gladly spend my time bragging about my weaknesses so that Christ’s power can rest on me. 10 Therefore, I’m all right with weaknesses, insults, disasters, harassments, and stressful situations for the sake of Christ, because when I’m weak, then I’m strong.  2 Corinthians 12:7-10, CEB

 

God doesn’t particularly need to manipulate us in order to display his power and strength.  He isn’t pushing us into weakness or taking away our resources so as to make us weak so that we then have to rely on him.  He’s not a narcissist!  

 

He doesn’t simply wait around for us to get weak so he can swoop in and save the day.  In love, though, he recognizes the need to intervene when we’ve reached our limits.  Living out our faith is not about being impressive, it’s about allowing God to be seen as clearly as possible.  Sometimes that happens when we encounter him during a profound period of weakness.  

 

If you’re at the end of your rope, then, here’s something in which you can take heart: God’s power tends to come upon the types of people who get to the end of their rope.

Leave a Reply

