Day 19

A gracious woman gains honor; violent men gain only wealth. Proverbs 11:16 CEB

I have learned how to practice the truth while playing tennis. Frankly, I’m just not that good at tennis – even though I’ve practiced it for decades. This is one of the best lessons I’ve ever learned in life. It’s true – we can practice and practice and still not make much progress at a skill set. But sometimes doing something poorly is far more important than not doing it at all.

In this world that values achievement and success, maybe it is time to release some of the tension and anxiety that comes from believing the lie that if we just try hard enough, we can be the best. This is delusional. I am not created to be a great tennis player, but who says I have to be a winner on the court? Can’t I just enjoy the game?

It turns out that I can. But only because I am willing to accept the truth about my limitations.

I still try to play my best game, but I know how far it will get me. And that’s ok.

Are you putting too much pressure on yourself or someone you love to achieve at all costs? Can you find some value in shifting away from that win-at-all-costs attitude?

Leave a Reply

