Day 29

Brothers and sisters, if a person is caught doing something wrong, you who are spiritual should restore someone like this with a spirit of gentleness. Watch out for yourselves so you won’t be tempted too. Carry each other’s burdens and so you will fulfill the law of Christ. If anyone thinks they are important when they aren’t, they’re fooling themselves. Each person should test their own work and be happy with doing a good job and not compare themselves with others. Each person will have to carry their own load. Galatians 6:1-5 CEB

 

4.    Carrying the burdens of others is status quo. So build strong muscles.

 

Instead of resenting the big problems that show up in the lives of those we love, maybe we could burn off some anxiety by taking that energy and putting it to good use. The other day someone I love was having surgery. There were a few burdens that needed tending – childcare, food, sitting with the family. All those jobs were managed quite nicely and I wasn’t needed. Others were doing all the heavy lifting. It’s so great when a community is so responsive that there are more hands than are needed to tote a burden.

 

But I was still anxious. I could have distracted myself with television or too much crunchy peanut butter, but I decided that all this energy could be used for good.

I looked around and took notice of my environment. I knew that my anxious, fretful self wasn’t good for much, but I could be good for something. So I cleaned out the garage. My husband is very happy with how our garage looks and so am I.

 

Part of building strong muscles involves developing some ways to carry our own load. This keeps us in shape for the days when we are part of a team that helps with a burden.

 

No matter where you find yourself in this scenario – can you find ways to make progress in strengthening your core? There is always something we can be noticing and learning from….what is you challenge today?

Leave a Reply

