Day 9

Yesterday I talked about the way I have been judged because of my gender. I bet you have had ways you have been judged too. I don’t know why we humans are so quick to judge and critique – I myself am terrible about jumping to conclusions and making assumptions. And here’s the thing – they’re not optimistic conclusions or kind-hearted assumptions. I don’t jump to the conclusion that a friend who cannot stay sober is for sure going to “get it” this round of rehab. I don’t assume that the stranger rifling through Scott’s backpack at our favorite coffee shop is altruistic, just helping Scott reorganize the contents to make it a bit neater. No! I assume that he’s trying to steal something. I fear my friend is never going to get sober, and end up a statistic.

 

26 You are all God’s children through faith in Christ Jesus. 27 All of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. 28 There is neither Jew nor Greek; there is neither slave nor free; nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.29 Now if you belong to Christ, then indeed you are Abraham’s descendants, heirs according to the promise. Galatians 3:26-29 CEB

 

One way I combat my own proclivities to catastrophize and make worst case scenario plans (when rarely needed) is to return often to scripture. In particular, I love this passage – a much needed reminder that God isn’t making it about us versus them. Folks, we’re all in this stew pot together. Today, can we please try to care for someone else? Maybe grease the skids a bit, making life a tiny bit easier for another? How about smiling at a stranger, opening a door for a mom with her hands full, letting someone merge in front of you just because you can.

 

Just for today.

Leave a Reply

