Day 25

We’ve wanted to be trusty and true

But feathers fell from our wings

And we’ve wanted to be worthy of you

But weather rained on our dreams

 

A few days ago, I overheard the Tuesday morning Lenten class listening to a song that intrigued me.  Afterwards, I asked mom what it was and she told it was called “Trusty and True” by Damien Rice.  I had heard of him, but hadn’t listened to him too much.  I went and read the lyrics of the song, and will be posting pieces of them over the next few days.

I don’t know what Damien wrote this song about, but to me, it almost seems like a prayer.  It seems like a person wrestling with faith, his motivations, and his character.  (Granted, it could be a song about a marriage or a relationship.  But, I’m choosing to focus on what it brings out of me).

This opening verse is striking.  Many of us don’t desire to be unreliable or immoral or whatever.  We want to be good, and we want to be worthy, but then life happens.  Do you ever feel this way?  Like you started out with the best intentions but a string of things happened that were out of your control and now we wonder…can we ever truly return to God?  I wonder this all the time.

What does all this mean for us?  Is there a way back?  How does God view our missteps?

More to come.

Leave a Reply

