Day 7

Life has a way of teaching us what it expects.  But that doesn’t mean it is right!  As I see it, we have three choices in terms of positioning ourselves in life: 1. We can take the position of eternal victim in a world that constantly disappoints, 2. We can seek victory in all circumstances…or 3. we can choose a different way.  This third way requires that we set aside the habitual ways we have thought, felt and behaved and find another “voice” to follow.  In this song of Jill’s, I am reminded of why the Good Shepherd’s voice is worth considering if we’re looking for a different life path.

Good Shepherd, Mortar & Stone by Jill Phillips

Your voice is kind
It does not accuse, doesn’t wound
It calls out, it pierces the darkness
It tells me the truth

The Good Shepherd
The Good Shepherd lays His life down for me
The Good Shepherd
You move and speak in love and in peace

Your love is real
You don’t run away, don’t get tired
When all I have known are conditions
You won’t draw a line

Chorus

You know my name
You find me when I’ve gone astray
And though I don’t know where I’m going
You are the way

© 2014 Jill Phillips / The Gullahorns Music (ASCAP)

Life has a way of teaching us what it expects.  We can fight, we can flee, or we can stop doing what we’ve always done and listen for a new song.  

Leave a comment