Day 20

Pride comes before a disaster, but humility comes before respect. Proverbs 18:12 CEB

The past few days, mom has spoken of different practices and the ways in which they can bring about hope.  The most recent of these is humility.  While I don’t know that many people would classify me as being particularly humble, I would say that when I see humility on display in someone else’s life, I very much appreciate and admire it.  Perhaps I admire it because I don’t have enough of it.

I see this on display in a few different areas of people’s lives.  One of these is in the ability to know one’s limitations.  (Think of Dirty Harry saying, “A man has got to know his limitations.”)  Occasionally I see people who are willing to acknowledge that a particular area is not their strength and pass that thing off to someone else to either oversee it or to do it.  That is an amazing attribute.  We can’t all be good at everything, why isn’t it easier to acknowledge that?

This makes me think of the image of the Body of Christ.  Each person contributes to the wholeness of the body in some form or fashion and the body isn’t complete without its individual parts.  There’s no need to walk on an arm, that’s what legs are for.

I am jealous of people who know their limitations, acknowledge them, and are humble enough to submit to someone who can better handle their limitation than they can.  That is some serious humility.

What are your limitations?  Who do you know that is strong in those areas?

Leave a Reply

