Day 26

God, your plans are incomprehensible to me!

   Their total number is countless!

If I tried to count them—they outnumber grains of sand!

   If I came to the very end—I’d still be with you. Psalm 139:17-18 CEB

Yesterday I suggested that we all try to be a bit more conscious of God’s incomprehensible plans while we acknowledge our heart’s desires to know and love him and his plans – even the ones we cannot quite grasp.

I actually have been practicing this perspective lately.  For example, the other day I went to a lot of trouble to make a delicious butternut squash soup for dinner.  (If I’m going to cook dinner, it means a lot of things have to happen that I don’t ordinarily do:  plan and buy the ingredients, get up super early to get it going before I head out for the day – stuff like that.  I know most people regularly do these things, but I, sadly, do not.  So it’s a big deal.)  Suddenly I realized it was Thursday, and I wouldn’t get home until  9 pm  – too late for dinner!  Pete thought it might be nice to actually eat together and he suggested a nice lunch out.  Scott came by the house on his way to work and he liked the idea of having a nice lunch out too.

There was a moment when I was tempted to feel irritated with my schedule and foiled supper plans.  I had made an EFFORT to fix dinner for a change and I didn’t want it to go uneaten.  But in keeping with this practice of flexibility, I paused before grumbling and considered my options.  My schedule being what it was, I realized that I only had about a thirty minute window between my morning meetings and that nice lunch out – too short a timeframe to head into the office. What should I do, I wondered? I decided for efficiency’s sake to not rush to the office only to rush back out the door.  Instead, I took my conference calls from home.  This left those spare minutes available for folding laundry and cleaning the kitchen and even swiffering the kitchen floor.

And lunch?  It was fabulous fun.  I could have been a grouch, but instead, I …wasn’t.

When I got home that evening, the house was straight and I plopped down in the den with nary a worry about folding or swiffering.  This is not the day I planned – it is so much better!

Does this example seem silly?  Maybe so.  But for me, it was a way to practice what the psalms are teaching me.  God’s got plans, and when my agenda gets disrupted – it is at least plausible to consider the possibility that maybe my plans weren’t as good as his.  Today, when some outcome that you desire, some plan you’ve hatched, goes awry…try to remember that there is a chance that your course correction will ultimately be a blessing for you, or someone else.

Leave a Reply

